University of Texas at Austin faculty member and alumna receive PEN Literary Awards

AUSTIN, Texas—The University of Texas at Austin’s Sabina Murray, author and alumna, and Dr. Khaled Mattawa, assistant professor in the Department of English, have been honored with this year’s PEN Literary Awards.

Murray is the recipient of the PEN Faulkner Award for Fiction and $15,000 prize for her novel “Caprices.” Murray was a James A. Michener fellow from 1992-94 while earning her master’s of arts in creative writing, and was also a postgraduate Michener fellow in 1994-95. She will receive her award at a ceremony at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C. in May. The award was founded by writers to honor their peers, and is now the largest juried award for fiction in the United States.

Mattawa is the recipient of the PEN International Annual Prize for Poetry in Translation and $3,000 prize for his translations of Saadi Youssef, “Without an Alphabet, Without a Face.” The award recognizes book-length translations of poetry from any language to English and is judged by a single translator of poetry appointed by the PEN Translation Committee. The award was made possible originally by a bequest from the late translator and PEN member Rae Dalven, and has received current support from The Kaplan Foundation.

For more information contact: Dr. Jim Magnuson, 512-471-1601.