Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2004 announced at The University of Texas at Austin

AUSTIN, Texas—Six new faculty members have been elected to the Academy of Distinguished Teachers at The University of Texas at Austin. The academy is intended to recognize and enhance teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level.

Honorees are chosen for their outstanding teaching, their personal commitment to students and the learning process, and their ability to inspire and motivate students in the classroom.

The new members, who will be recognized during the university’s 2004 spring commencement ceremonies May 22 on the South Mall, are:

  • Oloruntoyin Falola, the Frances Higginbothom Nalle Centennial Professor in History, College of Liberal Arts
  • Jerry Junkin, the Frank C. Erwin Jr. Centennial Professor of Music, College of Fine Arts
  • Brian Levack, the John E. Green Regents Professor in History, College of Liberal Arts
  • Elizabeth Richmond-Garza, associate professor of English, College of Liberal Arts
  • Lawrence Speck, the W.L. Moody Jr. Centennial Professor in Architecture, School of Architecture
  • Mary Steinhardt, professor, Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education.

When created in 1995, the academy was one of the first of its type in the nation. Composing about 5 percent of the tenured faculty in the university, the academy provides leadership in improving the quality and depth of the undergraduate experience.

Upon election, each faculty member receives a permanent salary increase of $5,000 and is designated a Distinguished Teaching Professor. In their first eight years of membership, members also are afforded other perquisites normally afforded to holders of endowed faculty positions. On retirement, faculty members are designated a Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus.

Deans of the colleges and schools nominated proposed members to the provost. An advisory committee of members from the academy, university administrators, faculty members and students submitted recommendations for new members to the provost.

For more information contact: Richard Bonnin, 512-471-6358.