University of Texas at Austin awards seven Dedman Scholarships to incoming freshmen

AUSTIN, Texas—The College of Liberal Arts at The University of Texas at Austin has selected seven students for the Dedman Distinguished Scholars, Class of 2010. These students were selected based on class rank, Scholastic Aptitude Test scores, exemplary extracurricular activities, community service and interviews. Each student will receive $10,000 per academic year for four years. Scholarship recipients include:

  • Gina Calabrese, Bowie High School, Austin, Texas
  • Grace Eckhoff, Bellaire Senior High School, Bellaire, Texas
  • Sherrill “Charlie” Rose, Garza Independence High School, Austin, Texas
  • Margaret Sanders, LBJ High School, Austin, Texas
  • Esin Saribudak, Klein High School, Klein, Texas
  • Brady Stoll, Dripping Springs High School, Dripping Springs, Texas
  • David Zummo, Kinkaid High School, Houston, Texas

A selection committee interviewed the top 14 students who were selected from a pool of more than 700 applications. In making their decisions, committee members considered academic achievement, personal characteristics, leadership and important accomplishments.

“These seven students are talented and energetic, intelligent and imaginative,” said Larry Carver, director of the college’s honors program. “They will contribute greatly to our community in the next four years and beyond.”

The naming of the Dedman Distinguished Scholarship honors Robert and Nancy Dedman of Dallas. Their $10 million gift in May 1986 provided the endowment that funds these scholarships, the first of which was awarded for the 1989-1990 academic year. Dedman graduates, some 75 to date, have gone on to matriculate in the country’s best graduate programs, medical and law schools. The scholarships are based on merit rather than need, although most of the applicants are from middle- to low-income families.

For more information contact: Tracy Harwell, College of Liberal Arts, 512-471-2404.