Harrington Fellows Program Names 14 Faculty and Graduate Fellows

The Donald D. Harrington Fellows Program, one of the most well-endowed visiting scholar and graduate fellow programs in the nation, and the most prestigious fellowship program at The University of Texas at Austin, begins its eighth year with a new group of 14 outstanding scholars.

Seven faculty members join the Faculty Fellows Program. The Graduate Fellows Program includes five doctoral fellows and one master's fellow from other universities, and one dissertation fellow from The University of Texas at Austin.

The visiting Faculty Fellows:

  • Dr. Bethany L. Albertson, Department of Political Science, University of Washington - Seattle
  • Dr. Eiichiro Azuma, Department of History, University of Pennsylvania
  • Dr. Lorne Campbell, Department of Psychology, University of Western Ontario, Canada
  • Dr. Matt D. Childs, Department of History, University of South Carolina
  • Dr. Matt Cohen, Department of English, Duke University
  • Dr. Marcin K. Peski, Department of Economics, University of Chicago
  • Dr. Allan W. Shearer, Department of Landscape Architecture, Rutgers University.

The Graduate Fellows:

Doctoral Fellows:

  • Mark Bayer, Department of Management, Washington University.
  • Solaman Cooperson, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Pennsylvania State University
  • Christopher Heaney, Department of History, Yale University
  • The Rev. Brian Muzas, Department of Public Affairs, Seton Hall University, Princeton University
  • Amy Smith, Department of Chemistry, College of Charleston

Dissertation Fellow:

  • Michael S. Waring, Department of Civil Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin

Master's Fellow:

  • Arturo Longoria, Department of Information Studies, Columbia University

The Harrington Fellows Program was created by Sybil B. Harrington as a tribute to her late husband, Donald D. Harrington. She envisioned a program that would support gifted and ambitious scholars, who would, in turn, share their knowledge and success with future generations. A $30 million endowment was funded by the Sybil B. Harrington Trust and The Don and Sybil Harrington Foundation to support the program.

Nominations for the 2009-2010 Harrington Faculty Fellowships are now being accepted.