Eight Fulbright Scholar Award Winners Named at The University of Texas at Austin

Fulbright Scholar grants for 2008-09 have been awarded to eight students from The University of Texas at Austin who will represent the United States as they conduct their research in other countries.

The scholars from The University of Texas at Austin are:

  • Erin Curtis, studying women's material culture and art in India.
  • Katherine Alfredo, studying cultural and environmental issues in engineering and mapping a sustainable community well system in Ghana.
  • Emily Hillhouse, studying peasant modernity: the display of folk culture in 20th century Bulgaria.
  • Ryan McCormack, studying Bulgarian jazz history in Bulgaria.
  • Jennifer Miller, studying managing for conservation goals through the "Modeling Impala Movement" in Botswana.
  • Dart Risley, studying the Egyptian dialect in Arabic culture in Egypt.
  • Peter Bouck, an English teaching assistant studying in Malta.
  • Patricia Ryan, studying the effects of health reform in the Kygryz Republic.

The Fulbright Program, which awards about 7,000 new grants annually, is a flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the United States government. It is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. Since its inception more than 60 years ago, the program has provided more than 286,000 participants, including 108,160 from the United States and 178,340 from other countries, with the opportunity to teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.