Provost Announces Recipients of 2009-2010 Dads' Association Teaching Fellowship

Four faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin have been selected to hold a Dads' Association Centennial Teaching Fellowship during the 2009-2010 fall semester, Dr. Steven W. Leslie, executive vice president and provost, has announced.

Leslie said the award reflects the recipients' teaching excellence and commitment, and an acknowledgment of the many contributions they have made to the undergraduate experience for students at the university.

Recipients of the award will receive a $3,500 honorarium as a salary supplement during the fall 2009 semester, Leslie said.

The recipients are Associate Professor Elizabeth A. Danze, School of Architecture; Associate Professor Sean M. Theriault, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts; Lecturer Cynthia A. Labrake, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Natural Sciences; and Assistant Professor Andrew B. Shea, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication.

Dads' Association Centennial Teaching Fellowships were established by the University of Texas System Board of Regents in 1983 with funds raised by the UT Austin Dads' Association and matching funds under the Centennial Teachers and Scholars Program. Selection of faculty members appointed as Dads' Association Centennial Teaching Fellows is based upon recommendations from the deans of colleges and schools offering courses for freshman undergraduates.