Sharon Mosher named dean of the Jackson School

Sharon Mosher, chair of the Department of Geological Sciences, has been named dean of the Jackson School of Geosciences. Mosher, who holds the William Stamps Farish Chair, was selected after a national search when Eric Barron resigned as dean to become director of the National Center for Atmospheric Research last July. Mosher is the past president of the Geological Society of America, past chair of the Council of Scientific Society Presidents and a founder and chair of GeoScienceWorld, an international journal aggregation for geoscientists.