Graduate Social Work Students in Texas Receive $25,000 in Scholarships for Mental Health Studies

Five Texas graduate students of social work have been awarded the prestigious Ima Hogg Scholarship for Mental Health for the 2009-2010 academic year.

The Hogg Foundation for Mental Health awards up to five $5,000 scholarships annually to students who demonstrate dedication to providing mental health services after graduation. Applicants must attend an accredited graduate social work program in Texas and be nominated by the head of their program.

The 2009 recipients are:

  • Our Lady of the Lake University's Worden School of Social Service: Karla Auten
  • University of Texas at Arlington's School of Social Work: Tiffanie Franks-Carothers
  • The University of Texas at Austin's School of Social Work: Maxey Elliott and January Moult
  • University of Texas at San Antonio's Department of Social Work: Sheri Swandal

The scholarship program was created in 1956 by Miss Ima Hogg to attract Texas students to mental health careers.

The Hogg Foundation was founded in 1940 by the children of former Texas Governor James Stephen Hogg, and today provides grants and programs to support mental health consumer services, research, policy analysis and public education projects in Texas. The foundation is part of the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement at The University of Texas at Austin.