Harrington Fellows Program Names 12 Faculty and Graduate Fellows

The Donald D. Harrington Fellows Program, one of the most well-endowed visiting scholar and graduate fellow programs in the nation, and the most prestigious fellowship program at The University of Texas at Austin, is beginning its ninth year with a new group of 12 outstanding scholars.

Six faculty members are joining the Harrington Faculty Fellows Program. The Harrington Graduate Fellows Program includes two doctoral fellows and two master's fellows from other universities and two dissertation fellows from The University of Texas at Austin.

The six visiting Faculty Fellows are:

  • Dr. Mark J. Butler, Department of Music, University of Pennsylvania;
  • Dr. Carlos M. Carvalho, Booth School of Business, University of Chicago;
  • Dr. David Enoch, Faculty of Law, Hebrew University of Jerusalem;
  • Dr. Alessio Figalli, Department of Mathematics at the University of Nice and the École Polytechnique;
  • Dr. Su Fang Ng, Department of English, University of Oklahoma;
  • Dr. Jason E. Powell, Department of English, St. Joseph's University.

The six Graduate Fellows are:

Doctoral Fellows:

  • Richard Davis, Department of Philosophy, Duke University;
  • Steven Parker, Department of Music, Rice University.

Dissertation Fellows:

  • Danielle Dirks, Department of Sociology, The University of Texas at Austin;
  • Sangheon Lee, Department of Chemical Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin.

Master's Fellows:

  • Hsiaojane Anna Chen, School of Information Studies, Yale University;
  • Emily Allyce Grubert, Energy and Earth Resources, Stanford University.

The Harrington Fellows Program was created by Sybil B. Harrington as a tribute to her late husband, Donald D. Harrington. She envisioned a program that would support gifted and ambitious scholars, who would, in turn, share their knowledge and success with future generations. A $30 million endowment was funded by the Sybil B. Harrington Trust and The Don and Sybil Harrington Foundation to support the program.