Two University of Texas at Austin Liberal Arts Students Receive $33,000 Larry Temple Scholarships

The College of Liberal Arts at The University of Texas at Austin has honored two students with a Larry Temple Scholarship.

The 2009-10 Larry Temple Scholarship winners are:

  • Natalie Craik, a Plan II Honors and biomedical engineering senior. She graduated from Westlake High School in Austin.
  • Sharanya Rajan, a Liberal Arts Honors sophomore majoring in government and economics. She graduated from Premier Academy in Nairobi, Kenya.

Temple Scholars receive a $33,000 scholarship, $11,000 per year renewable for three years. Application for the scholarship is open to any student achieving a 3.9 or 4.0 grade-point average during his or her freshman year.

"Forty-seven students applied for this highly competitive scholarship in 2009," said Dr. Larry Carver, director of the Liberal Arts Honors Program. "Miss Rajan and Miss Craik will join with current Temple Scholars to enjoy an enriched program of supplemental advising and field trips. They also will have special opportunities to interact with faculty and community leaders."

The Temple Scholarship honors Larry Eugene Temple, an Austin lawyer and public servant. Temple graduated with a bachelor's degree from The University of Texas at Austin in 1957, receiving a degree from The University of Texas Law School in 1959. A champion of higher education, Temple was chair of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board as well as chair of the 1985 Select Committee on Higher Education. Temple has been a member of the university's Development Board, its Centennial Commission and the Commission of 125.