Three Innovators Receive O'Donnell Awards from Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas

Three University of Texas at Austin faculty received 2010 Edith and Peter O'Donnell Awards from The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) at their annual conference on Jan. 7.

Doug Burger and Stephen Keckler
Drs. Stephen Keckler and Doug Burger

The O'Donnell Awards were established to recognize and promote outstanding scientific achievements of the state's most promising researchers.

Doug Burger and Stephen Keckler, faculty in the Department of Computer Science, received a 2010 Edith and Peter O'Donnell Award in Engineering for their pioneering work in computer science.

S.V. Sreenivasan, professor and the Thornton Centennial Faculty Fellow in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, received the O'Donnell Award in Technology Innovation.

Burger is an adjunct professor of computer science at The University of Texas at Austin and is also a principal researcher at Microsoft Research where he manages a research group in computer architecture. His research efforts span computer architecture, new computing technologies, power-efficient computing, mobile computing, data center design, cloud computing services and compilers. He co-led the TRIPS project with Keckler while at the university.

Burger's research has been recognized with several awards, including more than $20 million in funding, a National Science Foundation CAREER Award, a Sloan Foundation Fellowship and the 2006 ACM Maurice Wilkes Award.

Keckler, co-director of the Computer Architecture and Technology Laboratory, is a professor of computer science and electrical and computer engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. His research interests include computer architecture, parallel processors, high-performance computing, VLSI design and the relationship between technology trends and computer architectures. He co-led the TRIPS project, which has developed and prototyped high-performance adaptive computer systems.

S.V. Sreenivasan and Grant Willson
Drs. S.V. Sreenivasan and C. Grant Willson

Keckler's research has been supported by more than $20 million in funding from DARPA, the National Science Foundation, IBM and Intel. He is an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, the 2003 winner of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Grace Murray Hopper Award, recipient of a National Science Foundation CAREER Award and a winner of the 2007 President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award.

Sreenivasan's pioneering work with Professor Grant Willson and their students, coupled with venture capitalists and seasoned professionals from the private sector, commercialized a new and innovative nanotechnology resulting in Molecular Imprints, Inc. Molecular Imprints now employs more than 145 people in Austin.

Sreenivasan has led interdisciplinary projects to create tools, masks, materials and processes to deploy imprint lithography for the semiconductor and hard disk drive industries, while also developing market opportunities in emerging biomedical and clean energy applications.

TAMEST presented the awards during its annual conference Jan. 7 at the Westin Riverwalk Hotel in San Antonio, Texas. The awards were named in honor of Edith and Peter O'Donnell for their support of TAMEST, and include a $25,000 honorarium, a citation and an inscribed statue.