Hogg Foundation Seeks Applications for $5,000 Graduate Social Work Scholarships

Texas graduate students of social work are invited to apply for the prestigious Ima Hogg Scholarship for Mental Health for the 20102011 academic year.

The Hogg Foundation for Mental Health awards up to five $5,000 scholarships each year to graduate social work students in Texas. Miss Ima Hogg created the program in 1956 to increase the number of trained social workers delivering quality mental health services in Texas.

To be considered, applicants must meet these conditions:

  • Be accepted to one of 11 Texas graduate schools of social work that are accredited or pending accreditation by the national Council on Social Work Education.
  • Enter a one-year advanced standing program or the second year of a two-year program in fall 2010.
  • Be nominated for the scholarship by the dean or director of the graduate program. Each school may nominate up to three applicants.
  • Demonstrate commitment to pursuing a career in providing mental health services after graduation.

The application deadline is Monday, May 3. Applications, including a resume, personal statement and two letters of support, must be submitted online through the foundation's Web site. Nominations must be sent separately to the foundation by the program's dean or director. Scholarship recipients will be announced in late May.

Eligible schools include Abilene Christian University, Baylor University, Our Lady of the Lake University, Stephen F. Austin State University, Texas AandM University -- Commerce, Texas State University, University of Houston, The University of Texas at Arlington, The University of Texas at Austin, The University of Texas -- Pan American and The University of Texas at San Antonio.

The Hogg Foundation was founded in 1940 by the children of former Texas Governor James Hogg to promote improved mental health for the people of Texas. The foundation's grants and programs support mental health consumer services, research, policy analysis and public education projects in Texas. The foundation is part of the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement at The University of Texas at Austin.