Five Receive Robert C. Jeffery Award for Contributions to College of Communication

The College of Communication at The University of Texas at Austin is honoring four individuals and a foundation with the Robert C. Jeffrey Benefactor Award for their contributions of time, labor and philanthropy.

Pat Clubb (Ph.D. '85, MBA '96), vice president for university operations, is being recognized for her support during the planning and construction of the Belo Center for New Media and consulting on the retrofit of the William Randolph Hearst building, home to Texas Student Media.

Jeff Cohen (B.J. '76), executive vice president and editor of The Houston Chronicle is being honored for his work as chairman of the college advisory council and his work mentoring students in the School of Journalism.

Stan Richards, founder and head of The Richards Group, is being recognized for the time he invests in students inside and outside the classroom, for his service to the college advisory council and for establishing a scholarship for students in the advertising creative sequence.

Darrell Rocha (B.A. '81), assistant dean for student affairs, is being honored for his relentless dedication to and compassion for students through his role as an adviser in the college, as well as his work as an ambassador for the college throughout the state.

The Hatton Sumners Foundation is being recognized for its longtime support of the college's Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Participation and its student program the New Politics Forum, as well as the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs' Center for Ethical Leadership.

Robert C. Jeffrey, who died in 2000, was the third dean of the College of Communication.

"There are many individuals and organizations that contribute to the College of Communication's success on a daily basis. Each year we recognize a handful of those who have gone out of their way to their time, their labor, their advice or their treasure," said Roderick P. Hart, dean of the College of Communication. "This award reflects the character of Dean Jeffrey, who was a man of extraordinary warmth and commitment, and who was the finest ambassador this college has ever had."

The Jeffrey Awards, given to the college's special benefactors, were presented at a Friends-of-the-College dinner at the Etter-Harbin Alumni Center on the university campus last night.