Tower shines orange tonight

Tower shines orange tonight

The Tower at The University of Texas at Austin will shine orange the evening of Tuesday, Jan. 24 in recognition of mathematics professors Luis Caffarelli, Ivo M. Babuska and Bjorn Engquist, who received recent prizes acknowledging their significant contributions to their fields of study.

Caffarelli, the Sid W. Richardson Foundation Regents' Chair in Mathematics No. 1 and a member of the ICES Applied Mathematics Group, won Israel's prestigious Wolf Prize for mathematics.

Babuska, the Robert B. Trull Chair in Engineering and the ICES Senior Research Scientist, was awarded the American Mathematical Society's highly coveted lifetime achievement award.

Engquist, the Computational and Applied Mathematics Chair No. 1 and director of the ICES Center for Numerical Analysis, was awarded the 2012 George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics from the American Mathematical Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

Read more about mathematics at UT and ICES.