University of Texas at Austin Names Four to Receive Presidential Citations

The University of Texas at Austin Presidential Citations for 2012 will recognize two leaders of university units and two pacesetting alumni.

The award winners are Jay Boisseau, director of the Texas Advanced Computing Center; Barbara White, dean emeritus of the School of Social Work; and alumni leaders and philanthropists John Massey and Charles Tate.

Bill Powers, president of the university, will present the Presidential Citations, and other major university awards will be made in a ceremony March 7.

The university created the citations in 1979 to recognize the extraordinary contributions of individuals who personify the university's commitment to transforming lives. They salute those whose service exemplifies the values shared by the university community. The university does not award honorary degrees.

About the 2012 Presidential Citation recipients:

  • Boisseau has led the Texas Advanced Computing Center since 2001 and worked with colleagues around campus to build the center and the university into a supercomputing leader and innovator.
  • White became the university's first African-American dean when she was appointed to lead the School of Social Work in 1993. She stepped down in 2011. During her tenure the school became a recognized leader in social work education, rising in U.S. News and World Report rankings of the nation's best graduate programs in social work from 14th in 1995 to sixth this year.
  • Tate, an investment banker, has been involved with the university since receiving his undergraduate business degree in 1968. He has held several high-level advisory roles at the university and the University of Texas System, including a current post on the board of UTIMCO.
  • Massey graduated from The University of Texas at Austin Law School in 1966. He has been an investor and executive in radio, television, banking and insurance. He and his wife Elizabeth have made numerous contributions to the College of Education, the School of Law and the campus at large. Many of the gifts have been endowments focused on teaching. He is a trustee of the Law School Foundation and the University of Texas Foundation, and he is a lifetime member of the McCombs School of Business Advisory Council.

Other awards to be presented at the ceremony are:

President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award
The President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award was established in 1980 to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching at The University of Texas at Austin.

  • Caryn Carlson, professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
  • Alan Friedman, professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
  • Theresa Jones, professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
  • Naomi Lindstrom, professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
  • Elizabeth Stepp, lecturer, Department of Mathematics, College of Natural Sciences
  • Hannah Wojciehowski, associate professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts

Arno Nowotny Medal
The medal honors Arno Nowotny, longtime dean of student life, who influenced generations of students during his more than 50 years of service. The medal is awarded to staff members of the Division of Student Affairs who rendered meritorious service to students during their careers at the university.

  • Jeanne Carpenter, former associate vice president, student affairs and former director of University Health Services
  • Shirley Bird Perry (in memoriam), senior vice president

Civitatis Award
The Civitatis Award is presented to a faculty member who has shown exemplary campus citizenship throughout a career of service at the university.

  • Martha Hilley, professor, School of Music, College of Fine Arts