UT Austin Ex-Students' Association announces 2001 Texas Excellence Teaching Award recipients

AUSTIN, Texas—The 2001 Texas Excellence Teaching Awards presentation and reception, sponsored by The Ex-Students' Association of The University of Texas at Austin, will be held at 4:30 p.m. on Feb. 6, 2001, at the Lila B. Etter Alumni Center on campus.

The Texas Excellence Teaching Awards program was created to encourage quality teaching at the University by publicly recognizing individuals whose teaching and personal relations with students have had effective, positive influence on the lives and educational experience of students. Those selected have demonstrated warmth of spirit, a concern for society and for the individual, the ability to impart knowledge while challenging students to independent inquiry and creative thought, and have an understanding of the permanent values of our culture.

A $1,000 award is provided annually for a professor in each school and college. A $500 award is given to a graduate instructor in each school and college. UT Austin President Larry R. Faulkner; Aswini Sivaswamy, vice chair of the Cabinet of College Councils; and Jane Monday, president of the UT Austin Ex-Students' Association; will present the awards.

This year's recipients are:

  • School of Architecture ¬ Nichole Wiedemann, Ashley McClaran
  • McCombs School of Business ¬ Kevin Jackson, Adam Rocco
  • College of Communication ¬ Sharon Jarvis, Kevin Kuswa
  • College of Education ¬ Nancy Roser, Catherine DeCourcey
  • College of Engineering ¬ Eric Taleff, Eduardo Gildin
  • College of Fine Arts ¬ Suzan Zeder, Kyle Riedel
  • School of Law ¬ Sarah Cleveland
  • LBJ School of Public Affairs ¬ Gary Chapman, Suho Bae
  • College of Liberal Arts ¬ Brian Bremen, Karen Ruggiero
  • Graduate School of Library and Information Science ¬ Karen Pavelka, Julie Holcomb
  • College of Natural Sciences ¬ Arthur Meyer, Luay Nakhleh
  • School of Nursing ¬ Janis Carelock
  • College of Pharmacy ¬ Christian Whitman, Mohamed Omar
  • School of Social Work ¬ King Davis, Catherine Crisp

Recipients are selected by student committees organized by various student councils and coordinated through the Cabinet of College Councils. The committees solicit nominations from students and select one professor recipient and one graduate instructor recipient per college.

The Ex-Students' Association has no formal policy concerning a nominee's tenure, number of nominations or past receipt of the award. This criteria is left to the discretion of each selection committee. Funding for the professor's Texas Excellence Teaching Award is provided by The Ex-Students' Association's Eyes of Texas Annual Giving Club. Funding for the graduate instructor's Texas Excellence Teaching Awards is provided by the Office of the President at UT Austin.

For more information about the presentation, contact Taryn Deaton of the Ex Students' Association, (512) 471-3805.