UT Tower to be lighted orange for Rhodes, Truman and Marshall scholarship winners in 2000-2001

WHAT: The Tower at The University of Texas at Austin will be lighted entirely orange in honor of the UT Austin students who won prestigious Rhodes, Truman and Marshall scholarships during the 2000-2001 academic year. Special lightings of the entire 27-story Tower in the school color of orange are reserved for occasions of great distinction in the life of the University, as determined by the president, and for such precipitous events as a national sports title.

WHEN: Friday night (April 27), beginning at dusk.

WHERE: UT Austin Tower on the main campus.

BACKGROUND: The University of Texas at Austin is proud to honor three UT Austin students who have been selected this academic year to receive prestigious fellowship awards for their academic achievement, leadership potential and commitment to public service. Sara Galvan, an Architecture/Spanish/Plan II Honors senior, is one of 32 Americans awarded a Rhodes Scholarship. The Rhodes Scholarship, created in 1902 by the will of British philanthropist Cecil Rhodes, offers two or three years of study at the University of Oxford in England. UT Austin has had 27 Rhodes Scholars. Galvan also is a 1999-2000 winner of the Truman Scholarship.

Richa Gulati, an Asian Studies/Plan II Honors junior, was selected from among 592 candidates nominated by 303 colleges and universities nationwide to receive one of 70 Harry S. Truman Scholarships. The Truman Scholarship provides $30,000 for graduate or professional study for students who wish to pursue careers in public service.

Paul Domjan, a Plan II Honors senior, is one of only 40 winners nationwide of a British Marshall Scholarship, which provides for two or three years of study at a British university. Marshall Scholars receive approximately $50,000 for their studies at the university of their choice. The Marshall scholarship was set up by the British as a way of thanking the American people for the Marshall Plan.

This is the second year in a row that UT Austin has been represented by a recipient for each of these three fellowship awards.

CONTACT: Director, Office of Public Affairs, Dr. Peggy A. Kruger, (512) 471-3151.

The full press releases announcing the three awards can be viewed at <http://www.utexas.edu/news/2001/03/26/nr_truman/> (Truman)

<http://www.utexas.edu/news/2000/12/11/nr_scholarships/> (Rhodes and Marshall)