UT Austin President Fenves Joins College Football Playoff Board

AUSTIN, Texas — University of Texas at Austin President Gregory L. Fenves has been named to the Board of Managers of the College Football Playoff, the annual postseason tournament to determine the national champion of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

“I am looking forward to representing the Big 12 Conference as a member of the College Football Playoff Board of Managers,” Fenves said. “My fellow members lead remarkable universities, and it will be an honor to join them on the governing board for the playoffs.”

The 11-person Board of Managers manages the administrative operations for the highest level of college football competition and governs the playoff’s business, property and affairs, including budgets, policies and operating guidelines.

“We are pleased that President Fenves will be serving with the group,” said Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff. “He is a strong and respected leader in higher education and will be a terrific member of the CFP board.”

The members of the College Football Playoff Board of Managers are university presidents and chancellors from all 10 FBS conferences (American Athletic, Atlantic Coast, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West, Pac-12, Southeastern and Sun Belt) and the University of Notre Dame.

Fenves became the 29th president of UT Austin in 2015 after serving the university as executive vice president and provost and as dean of UT’s Cockrell School of Engineering. In his role as president of one of the nation’s largest and best research universities, he leads efforts to accelerate discovery and educate leaders by unlocking the potential of more than 51,000 students and advancing the groundbreaking research of more than 3,100 faculty members.

For more information about the College Football Playoff, go to www.collegefootballplayoff.com.