Steven Weinberg to receive Benjamin Franklin Medal

AUSTIN, Texas—Steven Weinberg, Regental Professor in the Physics and Astronomy Departments and holder of the Jack S. Josey Chair in Science, will be awarded the 2004 Benjamin Franklin Medal for Distinguished Achievement in the Sciences by the American Philosophical Society at a dinner in Philadelphia on April 22.

The American Philosophical Society is America’s oldest learned society, founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin, its first president. The Benjamin Franklin Medal was authorized by Congress in 1906 to mark the 200th anniversary of Franklin’s birth, and was designed by the sculptors Augustus and Louis St. Gaudens. In addition to the medal, Professor Weinberg will receive a hand-illuminated prize certificate, and a prize honorarium of $18,000.

For more information contact: Jan Duffy, 512-471-3898.