Classics professor wins top Hamilton Book award

AUSTIN, Texas—L. Michael White won the $10,000 grand prize at the Hamilton Book Awards for his book, “From Jesus to Christianity: How Four Generations of Visionaries and Storytellers Created the New Testament and Christian Faith.”

White is the Ronald Nelson Smith Chair in Classics and Christian Origins in the Department of Classics at The University of Texas at Austin. His book was published by Harper Collins.

The awards are the highest honor of literary achievement given to published authors at The University of Texas at Austin. They are sponsored by the University Co-operative Society.

Michael Granof, chairperson of the Co-operative Society, hosted the March 29 event and announced the winners. William Powers Jr., president of The University of Texas at Austin, presented the awards.

Four faculty members received $3,000 prizes for their books. They were:  

  • Eric V. Anslyn, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, “Modern Physical Organic Chemistry” published by University Science Books;
  • Neil D. Kamil, Department of History, “Fortress of the Soul: Violence, Metaphysics, and Material Life in the Hugueonots’ New World, 1517-1751” published by Johns Hopkins University Press;
  • Jeffrey L. Meikle, Department of American Studies, “Design in the USA” published by Oxford University Press; and
  • Paul B. Woodruff, Plan II Honors Program, “First Democracy: The Challenge of an Ancient Idea” published by Oxford University Press.

The University Co-operative Society also presented the highly regarded Career Research Excellence Award. Alan H. Cowley, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, received the $10,000 award for maintaining a superior research program over many years at the university.

Roger T. Bonnecaze, Department of Chemical Engineering, was awarded the $5,000 Best Research Paper Award for “Simulation of Fluid Flow in the Step and Flash Print Lithography Process.”

Jerry F. Junkin, director of bands in the School of Music, won the $3,000 Fine Arts Award for outstanding achievement.

The University Co-op is a not-for-profit corporation owned by the students, faculty and staff of The University of Texas at Austin. In 2004-05, the University Co-op has provided the university with more than $3.7 million in gifts and rebates.

For more information contact: Hulan Swain, University Co-op, 512-322-7024.