Prof gets Texas Exes award

Joan Shiring, a clinical associate professor in the College of Education's Department of Curriculum and Instruction, received the Elizabeth Shatto Massey Award for Excellence in Teacher Education at a dinner in the Etter-Harbin Alumni Center on Sept. 20. The Massey Award recognizes a "teacher of teachers," one who inspires and prepares future elementary and secondary school instructors. The $12,000 award was presented by University of Texas at Austin President William Powers Jr., Texas Exes President Darrell Windham and John and Elizabeth Shatto Massey.

Shiring serves as a clinical associate professor in the Language and Literacy Studies area of the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. She has been a faculty member in the College of Education for 20 years and is the coordinator of the Secondary English Language Arts program. Shiring's major contributions and teaching include teaching for the UTeach Liberal Arts program, participating in the Warren Fellowship Program and the Teacher Education Diversity Initiative, integrating technology in the classroom and working with urban schools and students.

Manuel Justiz, Dean of the College of Education, said of Joan, "As a non-tenure track faculty member who has been focused on teacher preparation full time, Joan has been simply remarkable in the commitment, dedication and expertise she exhibits. She epitomizes a model teacher by staying abreast of the field while making important contributions such as emphasizing technology integration and developing online resource centers. Her current students are very appreciative of her guidance and support, but her former students adore her. They have learned through experience how important and beneficial her instruction has been."

Named for Elizabeth "Libba" Shatto Massey, the award was created by university alumnus John Massey to honor his wife's lifelong dedication to public education. Libba received her degree in education in 1961 from The University of Texas at Austin and pursued a career in teaching. She remains committed to education and serves as chair of The College of Education Advisory Council and is an endowed member of the Executive Committee of the Chancellor's Council for The University of Texas System.