Jackson School members earn awards

The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) has recognized three members of the Jackson School of Geosciences community with major awards for 2008. James Gibbs, past president and honorary life member of AAPG received the Michel T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award, in recognition of exceptional leadership in the petroleum geosciences. Gibbs is a long-time member of the Jackson School's Geology Foundation Advisory Council and chairman of the Board of Managers of Five States Energy Company LLC. L. Frank Brown Jr., a research professor in the Bureau of Economic Geology and emeritus professor in the Department of Geological Sciences, received the Pioneer Award given to longstanding members who have made significant contributions to AAPG but have been unrecognized. Brown has been instrumental in expanding understanding of the geology and coastal dynamics of the Gulf Coast. Doug Ratcliff, the school's director of international programs and outreach, received the Public Service Award recognizing his contributions to public affairs, in particular his work as the leader and driving force behind GeoFORCE Texas, the Jackson School's highly successful outreach program gearing up for expansion to Houston in 2008.