Six Receive Robert C. Jeffery Award for Contributions to College of Communication

Six people will be recognized by the College of Communication at The University of Texas at Austin with the Robert C. Jeffrey Benefactor Award for their contributions of time, talent and philanthropy.

Maureen (BA '73) and Robert W. Decherd are being honored for their generosity in connection with the Belo Center for New Media and their commitment to journalistic and academic excellence. Maureen is president of the Decherd Foundation and Robert is the Belo Foundation's chairman and chairman and CEO of Belo Corp.

Susan Dirks (BA '75), administrator for the Department of Radio-TV-Film in the College of Communication, is being recognized for her extraordinary record of achievement and her devotion to the department for the past 15 years.

Kevin Moomaw (BA '83), senior adviser to Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, is being honored for his help in establishing the Sam Attlesey Endowed Presidential Scholarship and his diligent and creative support of the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Participation, which works to combat political cynicism and disaffection in the United States.

Randa Safady (Ph.D. '00), vice chancellor for external relations at The University of Texas System, is being acknowledged for her ongoing guidance on the college's various initiatives.

Judy Trabulsi (BS '70), co-founder of GSDandM, is being honored for her longstanding work on behalf of the college, including her involvement with the University of Texas Film Institute, and her distinguished career in the advertising industry.

Robert C. Jeffrey, who died in 2000, was the third dean of the College of Communication.

"The Jeffrey Awards are given to individuals who have gone above and beyond in sharing their time, labor or talent with the college," said Roderick P. Hart, dean of the College of Communication. "The award reflects the spirit of Dean Jeffrey, who was a man of extraordinary warmth and commitment, and who was the finest ambassador this college has ever had."

The Jeffrey Awards will be presented at a Friends-of-the-College dinner Thursday, Oct. 30, at the Etter-Harbin Alumni Center on the university campus. Jim Nicar, Texas Exes history and traditions coordinator, and committee liaison to The University of Texas at Austin Heritage Society, will be the featured speaker.