National Science Organization honors four University of Texas at Austin professors

Four faculty members have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). AAAS fellows are chosen annually by their peers to recognize their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The University of Texas at Austin fellows for 2008 are:

Chandrajit Bajaj, professor in the Department of Computer Sciences in the College of Natural Sciences and the Institute of Computational Engineering and Science, for research in algorithms and data structures in computational geometry, image processing, data visualization, and computational mathematics.

Harriet Dinerstein, professor in the Department of Astronomy in the College of Natural Sciences, for research on planetary nebulae and the interstellar medium. Dinerstein uses infrared spectroscopy to determine the elemental composition of interstellar clouds and of circumstellar nebulae created by dying stars.

Andrea Gore, professor in the Division of Pharmacology and Toxicology in the College of Pharmacy, for research in reproductive neuroendocrinology, especially for work on reproductive aging and the role of environmental endocrine disruptors on physiology.

Danny Reible, professor in the Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering, for research in the assessment and management of environmental pollution, particularly the science and technology of contaminated sediment assessment and remediation.