CBS Chairman Leslie Moonves to Speak

Event: Leslie Moonves, president and CEO of CBS Corporation, will receive the College of Communication's 2010-11 William Randolph Hearst Fellow Award and will deliver the lecture "The Networks Strike Back: How Old Media Has Adapted to the New World." This event is free and open to the public. Please RSVP to Wade Lee.

When: 4-5:30 p.m., Oct. 4

Where: Texas Union Ballroom (room 3.202). Maps of The University of Texas at Austin campus are available online.

Background: As president and CEO of CBS Corporation, Moonves oversees all operations of the company, including the CBS Television Network, CBS Studios, CBS Television Distribution, Showtime, The CW and more. He has also held key positions at Viacom and Warner Bros. Television where he oversaw a division that supplied the greatest number of programs to network television for nine consecutive years, culminating in a record-setting 22 series (including "ER," "Friends" and "The Drew Carey Show") on the 1995-96 network schedules.

In 2003, Moonves was honored by the International Radio and Television Society as the recipient of the Gold Medal Award, one of most prestigious honors in media and entertainment. He also has been named Variety's Showman of the Year and Entertainment Weekly's Most Powerful Man in Hollywood and received the Casting Society of America's Career Achievement Award. A Moonves biography is available online.

The William Randolph Hearst Fellow Award honors individuals whose distinguished careers in communication make them outstanding role models for students. The Hearst Fellow Award is one component of the college's William Randolph Hearst Visiting Professionals program, which was endowed by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation in 1990. Other components include the Professional in Residence program, which provides 30-day fellowships to visiting professionals, and the Lecturers program, which host visitors to the college for one to three days. Former Hearst Fellows recognized by the College of Communication include Helen Gurley Brown, Liz Carpenter, Walter Cronkite, Spike Lee, Dan Rather, Robert Rodriguez and David Simon.