UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

Presidential Citation Award recipients for 2004 named at The University of Texas at Austin

Red McCombs, Mike A. Myers and J. Tinsley Oden have been selected to receive the prestigious Presidential Citation Awards for 2004 at The University of Texas at Austin, according to Dr. Larry R. Faulkner, president of the university.

Two color orange horizontal divider

AUSTIN, Texas—Red McCombs, Mike A. Myers and J. Tinsley Oden have been selected to receive the prestigious Presidential Citation Awards for 2004 at The University of Texas at Austin, according to Dr. Larry R. Faulkner, president of the university.

The Presidential Citation recipients will be presented on Oct. 6 at “The University at 121: An Anniversary Observance,” an annual program during which Faulkner will present the President’s Address on the State of the University. Other awards to be presented during the ceremony will include the Civitatis Award, the Chancellor’s Council Outstanding Teaching Award, the President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Awards. New members of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers also will be formally recognized.

The Presidential Citation was created in 1979 to recognize the extraordinary contributions of individuals who personify the university’s commitment to the task of transforming lives. The university does not award honorary degrees, and these citations are designed to salute those whose service exemplifies the values shared by The University of Texas at Austin community. In honor of each recipient, a Presidential Citation Endowed Scholarship will be awarded to three students.

McCombs is the chief executive officer of McCombs Enterprises in San Antonio and a supporter of several colleges at The University of Texas at Austin, especially the School of Business, which was named in his honor in 2000.

After studying business and law at The University of Texas at Austin, McCombs began his career as an automobile salesman and eventually owned 50 dealerships. He also has been a successful entrepreneur in real estate, energy, ranching and radio. He co-founded Clear Channel Communications, Inc., which operates radio and television stations in 32 countries. In addition, he has owned a number of professional sports franchises, including the San Antonio Spurs and the Minnesota Vikings. In 1997 he funded a new softball complex at the university, the largest gift in the history of Longhorn women’s athletics. McCombs enjoys interacting with students at the McCombs School of Business, and on several occasions he has addressed classes, offered career advice and spoken at commencement ceremonies. In 1998 McCombs received the university’s Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Myers has a long history of leadership and service at The University of Texas at Austin. He earned degrees from the university’s School of Business and School of Law, and is a major supporter of eight different schools and colleges at the university, as well as Longhorn Athletics. He is chairman of the board and owner of Myers Financial Corporation, Myers Bancshares, Inc., and Myers Development Corporation, a residential community developer in Dallas. He served on the university’s Centennial Commission and the Commission of 125. He is co-founder of the Foundation for Texas Excellence Scholars, has served as president of the Texas Longhorn Education Foundation and chairman of UT Chancellor’s Council, and is founder, partner of the UT Golf Club. Highly regarded for his dedication to students and their success at the university, he stays personally involved with those who benefit from his support. He received the university’s Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1996 and was inducted into the College of Business Hall of Fame in 1998. The Mike A. Myers Track and Soccer Stadium is named in his honor.

Oden is associate vice president for research and director of the university’s Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES). Prior to becoming the founding director of ICES in 2003, Oden was head of the Texas Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics for 10 years. He has been a member of the university faculty since 1973 and holds the Cockrell Family Regents’ Chair in Engineering and the Peter O’Donnell Jr. Centennial Chair in Computer Systems.

Oden is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and has published extensively in the field of computational mechanics and related areas. He is the author and editor of more than 700 scientific books, chapters, essays, articles, conference proceedings and technical reports. He has received numerous awards in recognition of his research, including three honorary doctorates and nine medals from institutions in the U.S. and abroad. Oden was a founding member and the first president of the U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics.

For more information contact: Robert D. Meckel, Office of Public Affairs, 512-475-7847.