UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

Nominations sought for Presidential Citations

The university is seeking nominations for the 2008 Presidential Citation, the highest honor the president can bestow on an individual.

Two color orange horizontal divider

The university is seeking nominations for the 2008 Presidential Citation, the highest honor the president can bestow on an individual.

The Presidential Citation honors the extraordinary contributions of people who personify the university’s commitment to the task of transforming lives. The university does not award honorary degrees, and these citations are designated to salute persons whose service exemplifies the values shared by the university community. The Presidential Citation honors those who have brought great distinction to the university and helped the institution to achieve its mission.

The deadline to submit nominations to the citation committee is April 15.

The President has appointed eight individuals to serve as members of the committee to solicit and review nominations. The committee may recommend up to three candidates for this honor.

Committee members are: Professor Richard R. Flores, College of Liberal Arts; Professor Anthony P. Ambler, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Professor Allen J. Bard, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Professor Eli P. Cox, Marketing Administration; Professor Sherry L. Field, College of Education; Professor Coleman A. Jennings, Theater and Dance; Professor Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez, College of Communication; and Dean Barbara W. White, School of Social Work.

To be considered for a Presidential Citation, a person must be distinguished in his or her field of endeavor and have provided service to the university that has made a profound and positive impact upon the mission of the university.
The citation recipients will be announced in the summer and the awards will be presented at an awards ceremony in the winter.

Past citation recipients include Hector De Leon, founder and managing partner of the Austin law firm of De Leon, Boggins and Icenogle, PC; Earnest F. Gloyna, professor emeritus of civil engineering and the Bettie Margaret Smith Chair in Environmental Health Engineering at the Cockrell School of Engineering; and Claudia “Lady Bird” Johnson, best known as first lady of the United States during her husband’s presidency and as an environmentalist whose national campaign for beautification led to the Highway Beautification Act of 1965.

For more information and nomination instructions, visit: