UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

LBJ School Announces New Faculty for 2008-09 Academic Year

Dr. Laurence E. Lynn Jr., and Dr. Francie Ostrower lead a list of new faculty who will join the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at The University of Texas at Austin for the 2008-09 academic year.

Two color orange horizontal divider

Dr. Laurence E. Lynn Jr., and Dr. Francie Ostrower lead a list of new faculty who will join the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at The University of Texas at Austin for the 2008-09 academic year.

Lynn, whose lifetime of scholarship and policy-making in public management has earned him such prestigious honors as the H. George Frederickson Award from the Public Management Research Association and the John Gaus Award from the American Political Science Association, will join the school as a research professor in fall 2008.

Ostrower, an award-winning academic recognized for her work in philanthropy and nonprofit management by ARNOVA and Independent Sector, will join the school in fall 2008 as a professor through a joint appointment with the College of Fine Arts.

“Dr. Lynn and Dr. Ostrower are incredibly gifted academics and public servants who are leaders in their fields,” said James B. Steinberg, dean of the LBJ School. “Their appointments are a tremendous opportunity for the LBJ School and our students.”

Lynn–sometimes referred to as the “godfather” of public management–served in policy-making positions in government for more than a decade, including with the U.S. National Security Council, the U.S. General Accounting Office, the Economic and Training Division of the Economic Development Institute at the World Bank and other government agencies.

He most recently taught at Texas AandM University’s Bush School of Government and Public Service, where he held the George H. W. Bush Chair. He taught previously at Stanford University’s Business School and Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government. He is a past president of the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management and a Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration. Lynn is the Sydney Stein Jr. Professor of Public Management Emeritus at the University of Chicago, where he taught from 1983 to 2002.

His latest books are “Public Management: Old and New” and “Madison’s Managers: Public Administration and the Constitution” (with Anthony Bertelli). He also has received the Dwight Waldo and Paul Van Riper awards from the American Society for Public Administration. He earned his Ph.D. in economics from Yale University.

An award winning academic, Ostrower received ARNOVA’s 1996 Award for Distinguished Book in Nonprofit and Voluntary Action Research, and received Independent Sector’s Virginia A. Hodgkinson Research Prize in 1996 and 2006. She is senior research associate at the Urban Institute Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy, where she conducts research on philanthropy, governance and cultural participation. Ostrower received her Ph.D. in sociology from Yale University, where she also was associate director of the Program on Nonprofit Organizations. Prior to joining the Urban Institute in 2000, she was a sociology faculty member at Harvard.

Ostrower is the author of two books, “Trustees of Culture” and “Why the Wealthy Give,” and co-author of “Race, Ethnicity and Participation in the Arts.” Among her articles and monographs are “Attitudes and Practices Concerning Effective Philanthropy,” “Nonprofit Governance in the United States,” “The Reality Underneath the Buzz of Partnerships” “The Diversity of Cultural Participation,” and a co-authored chapter on governance in “The Nonprofit Sector: A Research Handbook.”

In recent years, she has been on the Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly board, the advisory committees of the Aspen Institute’s Community Foundation Initiative and the National Endowment for the Arts’ 2007 SPPA Planning Study, and vice president for publications and board member of the Association for Research on Voluntary and Nonprofit Action.

Also joining the LBJ School as adjunct faculty members are: Schusterman Visiting Professor in Israeli Studies Yoav Gelber, who will teach in the fall semester; Bill Spencer, the former director of Sematech (a global industry consortium devoted to supporting the development of semiconducting microprocessors), who will co-teach a class on global challenges to national innovation systems in the fall with Dr. Kenneth Flamm, the Dean Rusk Chair in International Affairs at the LBJ School; Assistant Secretary for Administration at the Department of State Ambassador William Eaton, who will join the school as its Diplomat-in-Residence, and dean of UT-Arlington’s School of Urban and Public Affairs Richard Cole, who will spend the academic year at the school as a senior research fellow.