UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

FCC Chairman to Speak Nov. 7

Event: Kevin J.

Two color orange horizontal divider

Event: Kevin J. Martin, chairman of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), will receive the College of Communication‘s 2008-09 William Randolph Hearst Fellow Award and will deliver the lecture “Change, Challenge and Opportunity in Today’s Telecommunications Marketplace.” This event is free and open to the public. Please RSVP to Wade Lee.

When: 4:30 p.m., Nov. 7

Where: The Jesse H. Jones Communication Center, CMA 2.320. Maps of campus are available online.

Background: Kevin J. Martin was appointed chairman of the FCC by President Bush in 2005 after serving as a member of the FCC for nearly four years. Prior to joining the FCC, he worked at the White House as a special assistant to the president for economic policy and was on the staff of the National Economic Council. In that capacity, he focused primarily on commerce and technology policy issues. He also was the official U.S. government representative to the G-8’s Digital Opportunity Task Force, a government, non-profit and private sector task force created to identify ways in which the digital revolution can assure opportunities for developing countries. A complete bio of Martin is available online.

The William Randolph Hearst Fellow Award honors individuals whose distinguished careers in communication make them outstanding role models for students. The Hearst Fellow Award is one component of the college’s William Randolph Hearst Visiting Professionals program, which was endowed by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation in 1990. Other components include the Professional in Residence program, which provides 30-day fellowships to visiting professionals, and the Lecturers program, which host visitors to the college for one to three days. Former Hearst Fellows recognized by the College of Communication include Helen Gurley Brown, Liz Carpenter, Walter Cronkite, Spike Lee, Dan Rather, Robert Rodriguez and David Simon.