UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

Dr. James Vick Selected for Award from Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation has honored Dr. James W. Vick of The University of Texas at Austin for teaching excellence.

Two color orange horizontal divider

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation has honored Dr. James W. Vick of The University of Texas at Austin for teaching excellence.

Vick, the Ashbel Smith Professor and Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Mathematics, College of Natural Sciences, is one of 15 recipients of the 2010 Piper Professor Award given by the San Antonio-based foundation. Since 1958, the Piper Foundation has awarded $5,000 annually to professors for outstanding scholarly achievement and dedication to the teaching profession.

Vick grew up in Baton Rouge, La., and attended Louisiana State University, where he received a bachelor’s degree in mathematics in 1964. After earning master’s and doctor’s degrees in mathematics at the University of Virginia, he taught for two years at Princeton University before joining the faculty of The University of Texas at Austin in 1970. From 1978 to 1989 he was associate dean for the Office of Academic and Student Affairs in the College of Natural Sciences. In September 1989 he was named vice president for student affairs and continued in that position until 2005.

As a professor of mathematics, Vick has been recognized on several occasions for outstanding teaching and for service to undergraduate honors programs. Some of these awards and recognitions include the Jean Holloway Teaching Excellence Award, the William Blunk Professorship, President’s Associates Teaching Award, AMOCO Teaching Excellence Award and CASE Professor of the year for the State of Texas. He was appointed as an Ashbel Smith Professor in 1992. Until June 1996 he was the university’s faculty athletic representative to the NCAA and the Southwest Conference. In spring 1996, he was elected to the university’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers. In 2008 Vick was awarded the Nowotny Medal in recognition of his contribution to student affairs and in 2009 he was a recipient of The University of Texas System Board of Regents Award for undergraduate teaching. He also has been a faculty athletic representative on the advisory group for the Division of Undergraduate Students and the Dean’s Scholars Program in the College of Natural Sciences.