UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

Austin’s Community Leaders Receive University of Texas at Austin Leadership Awards

The University of Texas at Austin honored seven outstanding men and women and three organizations on Dec. 9 with the Community Leadership Awards.

Two color orange horizontal divider

The University of Texas at Austin honored seven outstanding men and women and three organizations on Dec. 9 with the Community Leadership Awards.

More than 350 Austinites attended the ceremony at the George Washington Carver Museum and Cultural Center in East Austin as the honorees were recognized for their dedication to community service, education and civil rights.

Honorees of Community Leadership Awards


The annual event is co-sponsored by the Office of the President and the Division for Diversity and Community Engagement (DDCE). Now in its fourth year, the Carver event is a community tradition that recognizes leaders instrumental in making Austin the city it is today.

Huston-Tillotson University, ProArts Collective and the SANDE Youth Project received the university’s Community Partnership Award for their significant role in educating the city’s underserved populations, enriching Austin culturally and promoting good nutrition habits among children and their families.

Five of Austin’s unsung heroes, who have influenced civil rights and education in Austin and state-wide, were given Community Leadership Circle Awards: Dr. Charles Akins, Dr. Audrey L. Mackey, Dr. General Marshall, Dr. Bertha Means and Edward Roby.

Beverly Kearney, head coach of the university’s women’s track and field team, was honored with the 2010 Dr. June Brewer Legacy Award for outstanding dedication to her student athletes on and off the field, as well as for her philanthropic work. The award is named after the late Dr. June Brewer, who was among the first five African Americans admitted to The University of Texas at Austin in 1950.

Finally, the Rev. Freddie B. Dixon, a diversity and community engagement officer in the DDCE, received special recognition for his contributions toward successfully building meaningful community partnerships between the university and Austin organizations, including two of the organizations that received the community partnership award.

“It is very gratifying to me to honor these community leaders, men and women who have been the trailblazers and pioneers to break down barriers for future generations of young people,” said Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, the university’s vice president of the DDCE. “This year is particularly special as many of the honorees have led the city in education and civil rights — areas that impact how people relate to one another and come together as a community.”