UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

Orange Tower Honors President’s Award Winners

The Tower will glow orange March 4 to celebrate recipients of the Civitatis Award, Arno Nowotny Medal and the President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Awards. Hook ’em!

Two color orange horizontal divider

The University of Texas Tower will glow orange March 4 in honor of three important awards bestowed by the university to deserving faculty and staff members.

Civitatis Award

Presented to a faculty member who has shown exemplary campus citizenship throughout a career of service at the university.

  • Hillary Hart, distinguished senior lecturer, Department of Civil, Architecture and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering

Arno Nowotny Medal

The medal is awarded to staff members of the Division of Student Affairs who rendered meritorious service to students during their careers at the university.

  • Lynne E. Milburn, retired director, Career Exploration Center, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs

President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award

Recognizes excellence in undergraduate education in the core curriculum (including the signature courses) and a demonstrated record of engagement with curriculum reform and educational innovation.

  • Robert Crosnoe, professor and chair, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
  • Julia E. Guernsey, professor and associate chair, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
  • Coleman Hutchison, associate professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
  • Bruce W. Porter, professor and chair, Department of Computer Science, College of Natural Sciences
  • Lawrence Speck, distinguished teaching professor, School of Architecture