UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

Faculty Members Inducted into UT Austin’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Two color orange horizontal divider
Academy of Distinguished Teachers inductees.

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas at Austin formally inducted five faculty members into its prestigious Academy of Distinguished Teachers for their excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level.

The 2019 inductees were recently honored at the annual Academy of Distinguished Teachers dinner and awarded the title Distinguished Teaching Professor. The five faculty members were nominated by their respective deans and selected through a stringent evaluation process led by a committee composed of current members of the academy, other faculty peers, students and administrators.

The 2019 inductees are:

  • Keffrelyn Brown, professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
  • Kevin Cokley, professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies, College of Liberal Arts
  • Julie Hardwick, professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
  • Desiderio Kovar, professor, Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Ramesh Rao, professor, Department of Finance, McCombs School of Business

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers is emblematic of the university’s commitment to excellence in teaching. Composed of approximately 5% of tenured faculty, the academy provides leadership to improve the quality and depth of the undergraduate experience.

“It is my pleasure and honor to congratulate these five faculty members on their selection for this prestigious award,” said Maurie McInnis, executive vice president and provost. “Their outstanding teaching and dedication to our students is highly valued, and I look forward to working with them and the academy.”

Members of the academy advise the president and provost on matters related to the university’s instructional mission, participate in seminars and colloquia, lead workshops on teaching effectiveness and serve as mentors to new faculty members.

The academy supports the teaching mission by:

  • Honoring and rewarding excellence in teaching.
  • Enhancing teaching effectiveness, particularly at the undergraduate level.
  • Creating a central core of teachers who can serve as a resource and an inspiration for other teachers.
  • Selecting a body of faculty members who can promote a sense of community among teachers, foster research on effective college teaching and learning, and advise the institution on teaching policies and practices.

For more information about the award, visit: provost.utexas.edu/awards/academy-distinguished-teachers.