Six Receive Robert C. Jeffery Award for Contributions to College of Communication

Six people will be recognized by the College of Communication at The University of Texas at Austin with the Robert C. Jeffrey Benefactor Award for their contributions of time, labor and philanthropy.

Isabella Cunningham, Ph.D., chairwoman of the Department of Advertising at The University of Texas at Austin, is being acknowledged for her teaching and scholarship, and her unparalleled to service to the college and university.

Kevin Hegarty, (BBA '77, MPA '79) vice president and chief financial officer for the university, is being recognized for his ongoing guidance on the college's and KUT Radio's various initiatives.

Chris Mattson, director of the Mattsson-McHale Foundation and a member of KUT Radio's advisory council, is being honored for her ongoing support of KUT Radio and the university.

Sports psychologist, author and University of Oregon Adjunct Professor Steven Ungerleider, (B.A. '70) Ph.D., is being recognized for his support of the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Participation and the Texas Program in Sports and Media, as well as the Briscoe Center for American History and the Harry Ransom Center.

Robert Woolfolk and Dr. Elizabeth Carrow-Woolfolk (ME '50) are being honored for their longstanding work on behalf of the college. This includes establishing the Elizabeth C. and Robert M. Woolfolk Distinguished Lecture fund, which brings outstanding speech and hearing professionals to the college to speak to faculty and students in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders. They also are being honored for their past service to the college, including serving on the college advisory council, ongoing support of the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders.

Robert C. Jeffrey, who died in 2000, was the third dean of the College of Communication and is considered by many to have been the college's finest ambassador.

"The Jeffrey Awards are given to those who have gone out of their way to share their time, their labor, their advice, or their treasure with the college," said Roderick P. Hart, dean of the College of Communication. "The award reflects the spirit of Dean Jeffrey, who was a man of extraordinary warmth and commitment, and who was the finest ambassador this college has ever had."

The Jeffrey Awards, given to the college's special benefactors, will be presented at a Friends-of-the-College dinner today, at the Etter-Harbin Alumni Center on the university campus.

A list of past Jeffrey Award recipients is online. Jeffrey's bio is also available online.

Note to editors: Please contact Erin Geisler for high-resolution photos.