Communication Professor Named Distinguished Scholar

John Daly, a professor in the Department of Communication Studies at The University of Texas at Austin, has been named a distinguished scholar -- the highest honor bestowed by the National Communication Association (NCA).

Daly, the Liddell Professor in the College of Communication, Distinguished Teaching Professor and Texas Commerce Bancshares Professor of Management, teaches graduate and undergraduate courses on topics including interpersonal communication, organizational behavior, advocacy and persuasion. He has published more than 100 scholarly articles and six academic books, and has won 11 teaching awards at the university.

He has been president of the NCA and on the board of directors of the International Communication Association and the International Customer Service Association. He is one of fewer than 60 scholars in the world who are Fellows of the International Communication Association.

Daly is the third College of Communication professor to be recognized with the NCA Distinguished Scholar award. Roderick P. Hart, the Allan Shivers Centennial Chair in Communication and Walter Cronkite Regents Chair in Communication, and Mark L. Knapp, the Jesse H. Jones Centennial Professor Emeritus of Communication and Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus, also have received the NCA Distinguished Scholar award.

The NCA names four distinguished scholars a year. The Distinguished Scholar award was created in 1991 to recognize and reward a lifetime of scholarly achievement in the study of human communication by members of NCA. Recipients of this award are individuals selected to showcase the communication profession. The award is supported by the Mark L. Knapp Distinguished Scholar Fund.

The NCA is the largest communication-related scholarly society in the world and works to enhance the research, teaching and service produced by its members on topics of intellectual and social significance.