Tower Lighting to Celebrate Engineering Professors

UT Tower lighting

Tonight the Tower honors four Cockrell School of Engineering professors who were elected to the prestigious National Academy of Engineering (NAE). UT had more professors chosen for the NAE than any other U.S. university in 2014.

The four faculty members being recognized are:

  • Gregory L. Fenves, executive vice president and provost of UT Austin, recognized for contributions to computational modeling, creation of open-source software for earthquake engineering analysis and for academic leadership.
  • Thomas F. Edgar, director of the Energy Institute and professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering, recognized for contributions to mathematical modeling, optimization and automatic control of chemical and microelectronics processes and for professional leadership.
  • Yale N. Patt, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Department of Computer Science, elected for contributions to high-performance microprocessor architecture.
  • Bob E. Schutz, professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, elected for his contribution to the use of satellite laser ranging and GPS tracking to study Earth system dynamics.

Another reason to celebrate: this year the NAE marks its 50th anniversary.