UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

Tower Shines for Big 12 Champs

Texas men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams won their latest Big 12 championships on March 2. Check out the video for highlights from the meet.

Two color orange horizontal divider

Watch the Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championship highlights.

On March 2, both the Texas Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving teams won the Big 12 Championships. The University will honor their championships with a Tower lighting on Thursday, March 14.

tower glows orange


The No. 1-ranked men’s team won their 34th consecutive conference crown, including their 17th Big 12 Conference title. Senior Dax Hill was selected as the Men’s Swimmer of the Meet, and freshman diver Cory Bowersox was tabbed as the Men’s Diver of the Meet. Swimmer Sam Lewis was named as the Men’s Newcomer of the Meet. Eddie Reese was selected as the league’s Men’s Swimming Coach of the Meet. Read more about the championship win on TexasSports.com.

The ninth-ranked Lady Longhorns dominated the final night of competition with five victories to capture their 11th Big 12 Championship title. Head coach Carol Capitani was selected as the Women’s Swimming Coach of the Meet, while Matt Scoggin was named as the Women’s Diving Coach of the Meet. Meghan Houston and Maren Taylor shared the honor of Women’s Diver of the Meet. Read more about the championship win on TexasSports.com.

Men’s Swimming and Diving qualified 11 swimmers and two divers to compete at the NCAA Championships in Indianapolis March 28-30. Read more to find out who qualified for the men’s team. Shelby Cullinan and Maren Taylor will compete for the women’s squad at the NCAA Championships beginning March 21 in Indianapolis.