UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

20 Inaugural Provost’s Teaching Fellows Named

Twenty leading faculty innovators have been appointed as inaugural Provost’s Teaching Fellows to pursue specific projects to improve teaching and learning at the university.

Two color orange horizontal divider

Twenty leading faculty innovators have been appointed as inaugural Provost’s Teaching Fellows, Provost Greg Fenves announced Oct. 15.

The Provost’s Teaching Fellows program is designed to strengthen faculty participation and governance in the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL), enhance faculty collaboration across disciplinary and institutional boundaries, and support specific faculty-led projects to improve teaching and learning.

“UT Austin faculty are leading exciting innovations in undergraduate and graduate teaching across the disciplines,” Fenves said. “I am grateful to Pat Davis of the College of Pharmacy and the award-winning faculty who worked with our CTL staff to develop this pioneering initiative to bolster educational excellence and innovation.”

Nine senior fellows will take on a variety of leadership roles for two years, such as leading faculty learning communities, reviewing grants to support curricular and pedagogical innovation, and participating in operational governance for CTL.

Eleven fellows will receive $25,000 grants to pursue specific projects to improve teaching and learning in their departments, schools or colleges, or at the university. After two years, fellows may continue to participate in the program as senior fellows.

Provost’s Teaching Fellows will work closely with the provost, deans, chairs other faculty leaders and CTL staff to strengthen the university’s support structures for excellent teaching. The program is planned to expand and develop through annual nominations.

“The Provost’s Teaching Fellows program will help to nurture UT’s role as a distinctive center for excellence in educational practice and innovation,” said Michael Starbird, Distinguished Teaching Professor of Mathematics, chair of the steering committee for the Academy of Distinguished Teachers and a senior fellow. “The Academy of Distinguished Teachers looks forward to working collaboratively with the Provost’s Teaching Fellows and many others to create an effective, collective effort to position UT as a global leader in innovation in higher education.”

2013 Provost’s Senior Teaching Fellows:

2013 Provost’s Teaching Fellows:

  • Brian Bremen, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
  • Keith Brown, Department of Finance, Red McCombs School of Business
  • Carol Delville, School of Nursing
  • Jennifer Ebbeler, Department of Classics, College of Liberal Arts
  • Michael Mackert, Department of Advertising, College of Communication
  • Richard Neptune, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Penne Restad, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
  • Michael Scott, Department of Computer Science, College of Natural Sciences
  • Catherine Stacy, Division of Statistics and Scientific Computation, College of Natural Sciences
  • Sean Theriault, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
  • David Vanden Bout, Department of Chemistry, College of Natural Sciences

For more information, visit the Provost Teaching Fellows website or contact Harrison Keller, vice provost for higher education policy and research, or Jaimie Lenhardt, publicity and events coordinator, Center for Teaching and Learning.