UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

Three Faculty Members Named to Academy of Distinguished Teachers at UT Austin

Three faculty members at UT Austin have been named to the university’s respected Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2015, said Gregory L. Fenves, executive vice president and provost.

Two color orange horizontal divider

AUSTIN, Texas — Three faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin have been named to the university’s respected Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2015, said Gregory L. Fenves, executive vice president and provost.

They are:

“These three new inductees are outstanding examples of the excellence in scholarship UT Austin champions across a diverse array of fields,” Fenves said. “They have combined nationally renowned research with innovative classroom teaching, expanding knowledge while helping students launch careers.”

The academy was created in 1995 to recognize tenured faculty members who throughout their careers have maintained significant contributions to education, particularly at the undergraduate level.

The faculty members were named to the academy based on recommendations from an ad hoc faculty and student committee that reviewed nominations of faculty members. Deans nominate faculty members with input from others in the faculty, students and academy members from their departments.

Academy members receive the title “Distinguished Academy Professor” and a $7,500 increase in annual academic salary, effective the following academic year.

The academy serves as an advisory group to the executive vice president and provost on teaching excellence and will provide institutional leadership and guidance for the distinctive undergraduate experience available in our research university environment.


Left to right: Richard Corsi, Cockrell School of Engineering; Mechele Dickerson, School of Law; John Markert, College of Natural Sciences.