UT Wordmark Primary UT Wordmark Formal Shield Texas UT News Camera Chevron Close Search Copy Link Download File Hamburger Menu Time Stamp Open in browser Load More Pull quote Cloudy and windy Cloudy Partly Cloudy Rain and snow Rain Showers Snow Sunny Thunderstorms Wind and Rain Windy Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter email alert map calendar bullhorn

UT News

10 UT Educators Named Recipients of President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Awards

Two color orange horizontal divider
Tower and campus aerials from the roof of Dobie 2017

AUSTIN, Texas — Ten faculty members are being recognized for their work as educators and have been named recipients of the annual President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The award recognizes the university’s educational innovators who demonstrate exceptional undergraduate and graduate teaching and engage with curriculum reform and educational innovation.

“Students around the world choose UT Austin in large part because they recognize that our incredible faculty members are at the top of their fields,” said President Jay Hartzell. “Our faculty inspire and prepare students to tackle society’s biggest challenges, to make a positive impact, and to lead. We are grateful to this year’s award winners for their dedication to teaching, and to the President’s Associates for their continued commitment to excellence. Congratulations to all 10 recipients.”

The awards are made possible by contributions from the President’s Associates — friends of the university who are committed to advancing education and research at UT Austin. Each recipient will receive a monetary award of $5,000.

President’s Associates Graduate Teaching Excellence Award Recipients:

  • Jessica Toste, Associate Professor, Special Education, College of Education
  • Scott Wallace, Associate Professor, Medical Education, and Managing Director of the Value Institute for Health and Care (Dell Medical School), and Accounting (McCombs School of Business)

President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award Recipients:

  • Katherine Bruner, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Biology Instruction Office, College of Natural Sciences
  • Wenhong Chen, Associate Professor and Director, Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication, College of Liberal Arts
  • Kasey Claborn, Assistant Professor and Director of the Addiction Research Institute, Steve Hicks School of Social Work, Dell Medical School
  • Juan Dominguez, Professor, Psychology, College of Liberal Arts, College of Pharmacy
  • Lee Ann Kahlor, Professor, Advertising & Public Relations, Moody College of Communication
  • Christina Markert, Professor, Physics, College of Natural Sciences
  • Michael Mauk, Professor, Neuroscience, College of Natural Sciences
  • Rachel Ozanne, Assistant Professor of Instruction, History, College of Liberal Arts

Learn more about the award here.